Well a friend of mine recently found this opportunity at steveston, the salmon parade, and dragged me along to volunteer for it. Frankly I’m quite glad she did because one: I’ve never been in a Parade before. Two: it was good exercise. On behalf of the Japanese Language school a bunch of people came and learned a traditional dance called “So-ran Bushi (ソーラン節)” This was a traditional fisherman’s song in Japan one of the most famous traditional songs (min’yō). It is a Japanese sea shanty that is was initially sung by the fishermen of Hokkaido, northern Nippon. So-ran Bushi accompanies the bon dance in many parts of Japan, and it has its own dancing styles that date back. The dance moves depict fishermen dragging nets, pulling ropes and carrying luggage over their shoulders.

Besides that I learned this traditional festival dance and Okinawan folk dance. On the day of our group performed it. This kind of volunteering was more physical than many of my other ones, but quite interesting. If I had the chance I would do it again next year.

