Although I have to admit that Japan Fair in the previous years have been better, with the amount of support and effort only a few people put in, it was pretty good. Both me (the vice pres) and the president learned quite a lot from our previous event (the Japanese Singing Contest https://ciaosu.wordpress.com/2010/03/18/2010-japanese-singing-contest/).

The planning process was more efficient overall because me and the Japan Fair organizers took the time to all discuss the event. This time, we went all out and made floor plans, layouts and delegated tasks to others. (Japan Fair Layout (2)).

The food for the event was discussed beforehand as well. The president and I decided on getting sushi as the main food and some Pocky (desert food) that pretty much sold out. I did some bookkeeping after the event and Japan club did not have a deficit (thankfully) but we did not earn much to cover other costs in the future either so another activity may have to be considered.

All the grades were responsible for some task. A majority of grade 9’s unfortunately hardly came to the event, most likely due to a lack of interest. There was only one group of two gr.9 girls who volunteered to do caricatures.  Grade 10’s performed two Japanese dances, one traditional called Souran Boushi and another modern dance called Hare hare Yukai. Gr. 10’s were very active in participation and performed a song and one group did a Japanese calligraphy station. Grade 11’s (which I was also in charge of) decided to do origami (Japanese paper folding) and ikebana (flower  arranging). Offering a positive incentive to people such as bonus marks if they help out at the fair, did not work very well so I had to force everybody to sign up for a shift at the fair. On the day of, only less than half showed up to help out, but I’m thankful that they stayed for longer than their shift. These are the moments where I realize that my friends are really great. The grade 12’s could obviously decide on an event and pull it off themselves and they took Punch-a-bunch and tanabata (wishing tree). There were traditional Japanese clothing to try on as well and it was popular with a lot of people.

Personally I believe the president and the some of the volunteers did a pretty good job with the event and there are definitely big thank yous to the helpers.

What I’ve learned is that I should have started planning together, instead of trying to complete tasks separately. Both me and the president should be planning or working on certain things together, such as the layout, format of event, and the food. The president himself should also start learning how to plan events like this too, for I had more experience than him, but he learns fast. I would say the most important aspect to being a leader is the amount of passion you pour into your role.

Advertising was the part that could have been done better, and it is usually the main barrier to most of the events I plan. It takes more than just posters and facebook groups to motivate someone to come to an event. I found however, if I can convince one person to go, they may call their friends to come as well. Japan fair has always been a fun event for me because it brings many parts of authentic Japanese culture conveniently into one place and everyone can experience it.  When I initially became the vice president I had this goal in mind: to bring Japanese culture to people who want to experience it. This was not exactly successful, as most of the people that did come were my friends, but this just means I have much more to improve on.


