Signed up for the Homework club at General Currie Elementary school. Its a program comitted to connect, encourage and mentor preteens and foster the development of their academic, relational and life skills. Basically, I get to mentor young elementary school students on homework. Its going to be really fun since I like little kids. When I was younger I really wanted a younger sibling to look up to me and now I kinda have that. Now, I really wish for a older sibling to mentor me (but that will never happen).  “We cannot change our past. We can not change the fact that people act in a certain way. We can not change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude.”-Charles Swindoll.

Since my schedule is so busy with all the other afterschool activities I am doing I can only go once a week, that is every Tues. for 2-3 hours. Homework club is a really worthwhile program since it helps younger kids cultivate the 40 developmental assets for local youth in a safe and inclusive environment. As an elementary school student, I never really had the chance to participate in extracurricular activities because my parents put my academics before everything else. Now I regret that I did not argue with them enough regarding my interests. Its not that I don’t appreciate their mindset either, its just I might have enjoyed the experiences that I am having right now because of the many activities I take part in.

The volunteer training was fun. I meet new people and we practiced scenerios involving young kids (e.g. what happens when they start crying etc.) It was pretty fun because we got to act like little kids and play in scenerios. The program officially starts next week.

